中文

亲爱的兄弟姐妹们:

愿真主赐福那些遵循真正的引导并信仰真主和他的使者的人们。我们见证了除独一无偶的真主之外,再没有应受崇拜者,穆罕默(愿主福安之)是他的仆人和使者。

这封信由世界各地的穆斯林学者、教育者、宣教者和思想家所书。我们为您的身体健康而祈祷并远离新冠病毒(学名:COVID-19)。我们本着对您的安全、幸福和福祉负责而写这封信。

目前,我们正处于全球瘟疫肆虐之际。 新冠病毒几乎出现在每个国家。与感染流感相比,一旦感染该疾病,新冠肺炎致死率比流感更高。恐惧和焦虑控制着我们的日常生活。国家处于封国状态,学校关闭,社交生活被停止。许多人无法避免地会失去亲人。与此同时,许多人在来不及与亲人告别之前也即将去世。

无论我们大家有什么差异,我们中的许多人都表现出了极大的仁慈和团结。这就是为什么我们会认为即使在这艰难的时刻,新冠病毒仍可以成为让理智和精神觉醒的手段。以下是我们所思考的一些重点:

我们信赖造物主

“人们啊!你们才是需求真主的,真主确是无求的,确是可颂的。”

(《古兰经》35:15)

  新冠病毒使我们意识到我们并不能够自给自足。能力有限的我们是有所求的。我们的生存和生活能力几乎由无数事物决定,而这些事物是我们无法控制,也是无能力控制的事情。这些事物都取决于造物主。因为真主创造了我们以及上面所提到的一切,我们的存在完全取决于安拉。我们并不能自给自足,即使我们中有些人自欺欺人。

“绝不然,人确是悖逆的,因为他自己是无求的。”

(《古兰经》96:6-7)

整个世界都被一串RNA颠倒了。这个肉眼看不到的小病毒已经感染了世界上几乎每个国家。

目前尚无有效的治愈方法,并且经济也正处于崩溃的边缘,卫生系统不堪重负。人们感到恐惧和焦虑。人们被要求禁足在家。世界上没有任何金钱和权力可以扭转已发生的事情。这已经给我们上了关键的一课,特别是对于那些骄傲自满的人:我们必须谦虚。对神圣指引和怜悯的最大障碍之一就是自给自足的痴心妄想,它是最终建立在自我和傲慢之上的。

“在你之前,我确已派遣﹙许多使者﹚去教化各民族,﹙他们否认使者的使命﹚,故我以穷困和患难惩治他们,以便他们谦逊。”

(《古兰经》6:42)

新冠病毒和造物主的迹象

我们当中许多人从未直接观察过病毒。尽管借用与电子显微镜可以看到,人们仍然必须依靠科学教科书和图像以及专家们的研究去了解它们。然而,我们观察和感觉病毒所带来的影响,这足以让人们断定该病毒的存在。我们也采取行动并且做出防护措施,以防止自己和他人感染这种看不见的疾病。如果将这个原理应用于造物主,我们不仅对它的存在着与生俱来的意识,而且我们能够观察和感受到造物主对现实的影响。

我们生活在这个神奇的宇宙中,我们希望、热爱、寻求正义并相信人类生命的终极价值。我们进行推理、推断、演绎和发现。我们生活在一个拥有数十亿个行星、恒星和星系的广袤宇宙中。宇宙具有定律和基本的物理常数,即使它们稍有不同,也将阻止有意识的、有感觉的生命的出现。我们生活在一个拥有6000多种语言和800万种物种的星球上。我们内心深处感到因邪恶而导致的错误和因善良而带来的正确。

这些都是安拉存在的伟大迹象。

“天地的创造,昼夜的轮流,利人航海的船舶,真主从云中降下雨水,借它而使已死的大地复生,并在大地上散布各种动物,与风向的改变,天地」受制的云,对于能了解的人看来,此中确有许多迹象。

(《古兰经》2:164)

 

生与死

新冠病毒已经并且将要造成更多死亡。我们已经看到,全球死亡人数正以惊人的速度增长。这引起了恐惧和焦虑。但这也为我们创造了一个机会,让我们反思我们的生存本质,并思考死亡和生命。

“人人都要尝死的滋味。在复活日,你们才得享受你们的完全的报酬。谁得远离火狱,而入乐园,谁已成功。今世的生活,只是虚幻的享受。”

(《古兰经》3:185)

拒绝相信我们的生活具有最终的目的这样一个事实是荒谬和违反直觉的。我们是目标驱动的被造物。从刷牙到买车,我们所做的一切都是有目的的,但我们当中有些人却不相信自己有生存的目的。没有最终的目的,我们就没有存在的真正理由,我们的生活也缺乏深刻的意义。否认生存的目的,将虚假的目标赋予我们的生活,根据定义自我幻想,无异于说“让我们假装有目的”一样在自欺欺人

“我们的主啊!你没有徒然地创造这个世界。”

( 《古兰经》3:191)

那我们的目的是什么?

新冠病毒使我们想要保护我们所需要、爱和敬畏的事物。其中许多是我们崇拜的事物。即使是不信主的人,也会有表现出对事物的崇拜,敬畏和奉献。我们最爱和最崇敬的对象,包括我们赋予最终权力并相信我们最终依赖的一切,本质上就是我们崇拜的对象。对于许多人来说,这可能包括意识形态、领导者、家庭成员和自己。多神论和偶像崇拜不仅仅是向物体祈祷或在物体面前低头。

“有些人,在真主之外,别有崇拜,当做真主的匹敌;他们敬爱那些匹敌,像敬爱真主一样。”

(《古兰经》2:165)

真主实质上在告诉我们,如果我们不敬拜他,我们最终就会敬拜其他东西。这些东西将“奴役”我们,从而成为我们的“主人”。

“你见过以私欲为主宰的人吗?”

(《古兰经》45:23)

甚至那些自称为无神论者的人也可能在不知不觉中崇拜某人或某物,也很可能崇拜自己的欲望。当我们拒绝造物主的讯息而拒绝改变自己,无论是由于对这个物质世界的傲慢或热爱,我们让自己的欲望主宰了自己。我们已经成为我们欲望的奴隶。

真主是全知的,它至知我们自己,他是最仁慈的,他告诉我们他是我们的主人,只有崇拜他,我们才能真正摆脱那些取代造物主而束缚自己的事物。

“我创造精灵和人类,只为要他们崇拜我。”

(《古兰经》51:56)

敬拜真主是我们生命的目的。真主植根于我们内在的本性中,当他命令我们敬拜他时,这实际上是一种怜悯和爱的行动。一旦我们对真主的敬畏和爱装满在我们的内心时,我们就会感到安宁,体验到永远无法言语的宁静,以及不受灾难干扰的宁静。

人们啊!你们应当铭记真主所赐你们的恩惠,除真主外,还有甚么创造者能从天上地下供给你们吗?除他外,绝无应受崇拜的,你们怎么如此悖谬呢?

(《古兰经》第35:3)

制止腐败与不公正

这场瘟疫不是偶然的事件。我们的个人和集体行为应对地球上发生的一切负责。应该我们反思我们到底做过什么而造成这场瘟疫。考虑到我们对真主的信赖,我们对于环境和他人与事物在内的相互联系,我们应该意识到,正是我们的腐败和不公才可能导致这一大流行。

“灾害因众人所犯的罪恶而显现于大陆和海洋,以至真主使他们尝试自己的行为的一点报酬,以便他们悔悟。”

(《古兰经》30:41)

我们的星球处于即将被摧毁的状况;令人震惊的污染正在破坏我们的家园。不公正和战争比比皆是。数以百万计的同胞已成为难民,在持续的冲突中有数百万人被杀害,数百万人没有足够的食物生存。我们因共同为没有采取足够的行动去制止邪恶而负责任,我们中的许多人直接造成了恶果。我们需要承担责任,并理解这场瘟疫是制止地球上不公正和腐败的信号,是一个神圣的信号。

“在改善地方之后,你们不要在地方上作恶,你们要怀着恐惧和希望的心情祈祷他。真主的慈恩确是临近行善者的。”

(《古兰经》7:56)

我们必须意识到我们是地球的守护者。这意味着我们有责任保持平衡,确保秩序且不浪费。必须停止不公正的战争,必须停止残杀无辜的人民,必须废除不公平的经济政策,必须结束对动物的虐待,必须消除浪费和贪婪。我们面临一些选择。我们要遵循真主的指导去重新设置平衡和秩序,或选择继续的腐败。

“真主必定不变更任何民众的情况,直到他们变更自己的情况。”

(《古兰经》13:11)

信任那些值得信赖的

 此次全球性流行病使我们一直盯着屏幕,等待专家、病毒学家、流行病学家和其他权威人士的下一次的更新和指导。。我们相信他们所说的话并遵守他们的指示。但是,我们中的许多人(实际上是大多数人)无法评估其陈述的真实性。我们没有学术背景,也没有专业知识。鉴于我们作为人类的局限性,我们根本无法了解这一切。依靠他人的证据在生活中不可避免,也必不可少。由于我们可以信任某些人的证据,因此信任那些比目前我们所相信的那些更值得信任的人是有意义的。

 “穆罕默德是真主的使者。”

(《古兰经》48:29)

先知穆罕默德(愿主福安之)在1400年前就通过以下简单而深刻的信息宣称自己是先知:“除了真主以外,没有应受崇拜的。先知穆默德是真主的最后一位使者。”我们强烈建议您仔细研究先知穆罕默德被严谨记录的历史生平,这将为我们揭示大量信息,向我们展示他完整的人格。他不是骗子、造谣者,而是像诺亚、亚伯拉罕、摩西和耶稣一样光荣的先知和使者(愿主福安之)。所有的人都宣讲真主的独一性,而在宣扬真理时,人类的独一性最令人感动。

研究先知穆罕默德(愿主福安之)的生平和指导,也将使人知道他被授予神圣的精神,并提供大量证据证明《古兰经》是真主的最终启示。

鉴于上述情况,拒绝先知穆罕默德(愿主福安之)的启示,在逻辑上等同于拒绝在这流行瘟疫期间认真去关注专家的消息。

新冠病毒将带您进入天堂

“他曾创造了死生,以便他考验你们谁的作为是最优美的。他是万能的,是至赦的。”

(《古兰经》67:2节)

造物主创造了我们目的是为了崇拜,而考验也是崇拜的一部份,像这次全球性大流行的瘟疫这样的考验也是考验的一部分。以取悦安拉的方式回应,并通过考验,将让我们进入永生不灭的乐园。 “世界是一个考验和磨难的场所,也是培养美德的机会,确保我们的道德和精神成长,并决定我们当中谁真正值得拥有永恒的幸福。在这些困难时期,我们必须保持耐心和勇气,并尽我们所能帮助和为那些感染病毒的人送去关爱。

“你们还没有遭遇前人所遭遇的患难,就猜想自己得入乐园了吗?前人曾遭受穷困和患难,曾受震惊,甚至使者和信道的人都说:「真主的援助甚么时候降临呢?」真的,真主的援助,确是临近的。

(《古兰经》:2:214)

伊斯兰给予人力量。它把痛苦,邪恶,伤害,痛苦和问题视为考验,并将考验视为真主之爱的标志。先知穆罕默德(愿主福安之)说:“当真主爱一个仆人时,他就会考验他。”真主之所以考验他所爱的人,因为考验是通往天堂的途径如果你尽力之后仍无法克服这些考验,那么安拉的怜悯与公正将确保我们以某种方式得到补偿,或许在今生,或者在那等待我们的永恒的后世。

结论:一个病毒的警醒

“在最大的刑罚之前,我必使他们尝试最近的刑罚,以便他们悔悟。有人以主的迹象劝戒他,而他不肯听从,这样的人,谁比他还不义呢?我必然要惩浩犯罪的人。” (古兰经》 32:21-22)

此次全球性瘟疫应引起对病毒的觉醒,是该回归造物主的道路了。真主赐予的考验可能是出于真主的爱,也可能是因为我们自大的原因。如果我们谦卑、忍耐,希望获得安拉的奖赏,真诚地崇拜他,充满仁爱地做正确的事,我们将通过考验并有资格享有天堂永生的幸福,那是如此幸福的地方,如果一个在地球上遭受最多苦难的人,被允许进入天堂片刻,他会惊呼,正如先知(愿主福安之)告诉我们的那样:“我从未受过苦难!”

选择在于我们。我们可以接受这样一个事实,那就是真主是唯一值得崇拜的主宰,而先知穆罕默德(愿主福安之)是他的最后使者。我们也可以拒绝真理,并因此而被入地狱,因为我们选择了拒绝真主的指导和怜悯。现在是时候相信他和记念他了:

“谁敬畏真主,他将为谁辟一条出路,而且从他料想不到的地方供给他。谁信托真主,他将使谁满足。真主确是能达到自己的目的的,真主确已使万物各有定数。” (《古兰经》65:2-3)

愿安拉引领和保护我们所有的人,并使我们有资格获得他特别的怜悯。

签署人

Mufti Muhmmad Taqi Usmani, vice president of Darul Uloom University Karachi, Pakistan. The most Influential Muslim in 2020 according to www.themuslim500.com.

Sheikh Dr Sharif Ibrahim Saleh Alhussaini CON, Grand Mufti of Nigeria,  Chairman, Fatawa Committee of the Supreme Council for Islamic  Affairs of Nigeria, Chairman, Assembly of Muslims in Nigeria AMIN.

Muhmmad Seydya Suliman al-Nawawi al-Shanqiti, vice president of Association of Muslim scholars.

Hussain Yee, president of Serving Mankind Association, Malaysia.

Dr. Ali Muhammad Muhammad al-Sallabi, Muslim historian and religious scholar, Libya.

Dr Zakir Naik, Founder, Peace TV Network, Malaysia.

Dr Mohd Asri bin Zainul Abidin, Mufti of Perlis, Malaysia.

Abdul Raheem Green, international preacher, UK.

Sheikh Dr AbdulHayy Yusuf, Vice president of the board of the scholars of Sudan.

Dr Muhmmad Yusri Ibrahim, Academic and researcher, Egypt.

Daei al-Islam al-Shahhal, scholar, Lebanon.

Dr Haifaa Younis, Jannah institute, St. Louis, MO, USA.

Dr. Yasir Qadhi. Dean, The Islamic Seminary of America Dallas, TX, USA.

Sheikh Shadi Alsuleiman, Chairman of Australian National Imams Council (ANIC), Australia.

Dr Muhmmad Salah, Huda TV, Egypt.

Hamza Tzortzis, author and international preacher, UK.

Dr Tawfique Chowdhury, Australia.

Sheikh Omar Suleiman, Founder & President of Yaqeen Institute for Islamic Research, USA.

Imam Said Rageah, Chairman of Journey of Faith international conference, Chairman and founder of Sakinah Foundation, Toronto Canada.

Fadel Soliman, Director of Bridges Foundation, Egypt.

Dr. Anas Altikriti, CEO and founder, The Cordoba Foundation, United Kingdom.

Sheikh Zahir Mahmood, founder and teacher at As-Suffa Institute. Birmingham, England.

Sheikh Dr Haitham al-Haddad, founder of AlMarkaz for Revival and Reform Studies, UK. 

Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah Houiyat, scholar, Germany

Dr Kamil Salah, lecturer in Islamic jurisprudence University of Jarash, Jordan.

Sheikh Ihsan Mohammed Alotibie, scholar, Jordan.

Nour al-Din Yildiz a scholar and a preacher, Turkey.

Shaykh Asrar Rashid. Founder of Hadithiyya Institute, Imam at Jamatia Islamic Centre Birmingham. Author, theologian and orator, UK.

Muhammad Idrees Zubair, former professor and member BOG of IIU, Islamabad, Pakistan.

Dr. Bachir Aissam Almorrakochi, scholar, author and the director of Irshad Academy for studies and development, Morocco.

Shaykha Dr. Tamara Gray, Executive Director, scholar and chief spirituality officer of Rabata.

Imam Siraj Wahhaj, Masjid Al Taqwa New York.

Imam Dr. Khalil Abdur-Rashid, Muslim Chaplain at Harvard University, Instructor of Muslim Studies at Harvard Divinity School & Adjunct Professor of Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School.

Follow us

Messenger icon
Send message via your Messenger App

中文  हिन्दी  ESPAÑOL FRANÇAIS PORTUGUÊS NEDERLANDS 日本語  KISWAHILI  PУССКИЙ  DEUTSCHE  TAGALOG  ITALIANO  HAUSA  AFRIKAANS


 

Dear brothers and sisters in humanity,

This letter is sent from Muslim scholars, educators, preachers and thinkers from around the world. We pray that you are in good health and that you are safe from coronavirus (technically referred to as COVID-19). We are committed to your safety, happiness and wellbeing; it is in this spirit we write this letter.

We are in the midst of a global pandemic. Coronavirus is in almost every country of the world. People are more likely to die once infected with the disease than if they were infected with the flu. Fear and anxiety have dominated our day-to-day lives. Countries are on lockdown, schools are closed and social lives are dismantled. Many will inevitably lose their loved ones. Many will die before they can say goodbye.

Many of us have shown great compassion and unity, irrespective of our differences. This is why we believe that, even in these unprecedented times, coronavirus can be the means for an intellectual and spiritual awakening. What follows are some key points for us to consider.

We are dependent on God

“O humanity! It is you who stand in need of God, but God alone is the Self-Sufficient, Praiseworthy.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 35, Verse 15

Coronavirus has made us realize that we are not self-sufficient. We are limited and needy. Our very existence and our ability to function is dependent on almost an infinite number of things; things that we cannot control and have no power over. All of these things are ultimately dependent on God. ​Since God created us and all of the things mentioned above, our very existence is solely dependent on Him. We are not self-sufficient, even if some of us are deluded into thinking that we are.

“Indeed, man transgresses, because he sees himself as self-sufficient.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 96, Verses 6 and 7

The whole world has been turned upside down over a single strand of RNA. This small virus, which we cannot see with the naked eye, has affected nearly every country in the world. There is currently no cure. Economies are on the verge of collapse and health systems are overwhelmed. People are fearful and anxious. Populations have been asked to stay at home. No amount of money and power in the world can reverse what has happened. This should teach us an important lesson, especially for those who are arrogant: we must be humble. One of the biggest barriers to Divine guidance and mercy is the delusion of self-sufficiency, which is ultimately based on ego and arrogance.

“We have already sent [messengers] to nations before you; then We seized them with suffering and adversity that perhaps they may humble themselves [to Us].”

The Qur’an, Chapter 6, Verse 42 

Coronavirus and God’s signs

Many of us have never directly observed a virus. Even though it is visible with an electron microscope, many of us rely on scientific textbooks and images, and what the experts tell us. However, we do observe and feel the effects of the virus. This is enough for anyone to conclude the virus exists. We also act and take measures to prevent ourselves and others from being infected with this unseen disease. Applying this to God, not only do we have an innate awareness of His existence, we can observe and feel the effects of His reality.

We live in this amazing universe. We hope, love, seek justice and believe in the ultimate value of human life. We reason, infer, deduce and discover. We live in a vast universe with billions of planets, stars and galaxies. The universe has laws and fundamental physical constants that, if even slightly different, would have prevented the emergence of conscious, sentient life. We live on a planet with over 6,000 languages and over eight million species. We feel—deep down inside—the wrongness of evil, and the rightness of good.

These are all signs for God’s existence and greatness.

“Indeed, in the creation of the heavens and the earth; the alternation of the night and day; the ships that sail the sea for the benefit of humanity; the rain sent down by God from the skies, reviving the earth after its death; the scattering of all kinds of creatures throughout; the shifting of the winds; and the clouds drifting between the heavens and the earth​—in all of this are surely signs for people of understanding​.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 2, Verses 164

Life, death and purpose

Coronavirus has been and will be responsible for many deaths. We have seen the global death toll increase at an alarming rate day by day. This has evoked fear and anxiety. But it has also created a window of opportunity for us to reflect on the nature of our existence, and ponder over death and life.

“Every soul will taste death. And you will receive full reward on the Day of Judgment. Only he who is saved far from the Fire and is admitted into Paradise will triumph. For the life of this world is no more than the delusion of enjoyment.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 3, Verse 185

Rejecting the fact that our lives have an ultimate purpose is absurd and counter-intuitive. We are purpose-driven creatures. We do everything for a purpose, from brushing our teeth to buying a car, yet some of us do not believe we have a purpose for our own existence. Without an ultimate purpose we have no real reason to exist, and we lack a profound meaning for our lives. Denying purpose for the basis of our existence while attributing a made-up purpose to our lives is, by definition, self-delusion. It is no different than saying, “Let’s pretend to have purpose.”

“Our Lord! You have not created all of this without purpose.” ​

The Qur’an, Chapter 3, Verse 191 

So what is our purpose?

Coronavirus has made us think of, and want to preserve, the things we need, love and revere. Many of these things are the things we worship. Even people who do not believe in God, manifest signs of adoration, reverence and devotion for things. The object that we love and revere the most, including whatever we attribute ultimate power to and believe we are ultimately dependent on, is essentially our object of worship. For many people, this can include an ideology, a leader, a family member, and their own selves. Polytheism and idolatry are not just about praying to or physically bowing down in front of an object.

“And [yet], among the people are those who take other than God as equals [to Him]. They love them as they [should] love God. But those who believe are stronger in love for God.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 2, Verse 165 

God is essentially telling us that if we do not worship Him, we end up worshipping something else. These things ‘enslave’ us and they become our ‘masters’.

“Have you seen the one who takes as his god his own desire?” ​

The Qur’an, Chapter 45, Verse 23

Even those who call themselves atheists worship someone or something, perhaps unknowingly. This something could very well be one’s own desire. When we reject God’s message and refuse to change ourselves, be it because of arrogance or love of this material world, we have let our own desire get the better of us. We have become slaves of our desires.

 God, who knows everything, including our own selves, and who is the Most Merciful, is telling us that He is our master, and that only by worshipping Him alone will we truly free ourselves from the shackles of the things we have taken as replacements for Him.

“I did not create the Jinn [spirit world] and humans except to worship Me.”

​The Qur’an, Chapter 51, Verse 56

Worshipping God is our purpose in life. God is rooted in our innermost nature, and when God commands us to worship Him it is actually a mercy and act of love. Once we fill our hearts with the awe and love of God we feel at peace and experience a tranquillity that can never be put into words, and a serenity that is undisturbed by calamity.

“O humanity! Remember God’s favours upon you. Is there any creator other than God who provides for you from the heaven and the Earth? There is no God worthy of worship except Him. How can you then be deluded from the truth?”

The Qur’an, Chapter 35, Verse 3

Stop the corruption and injustice

This pandemic is not a random accident. Our individual and collective actions are responsible for what happens on our planet. This should make us reflect over what we have done, and not done, that may have caused this pandemic. Given our dependence on God and our interconnectedness to other things, including our environment and other people, we should realise that it is our corruption and injustice that may have contributed to this pandemic.

“Corruption has spread on land and sea as a result of what people’s hands have done, so that God may cause them to taste the consequences of some of their deeds and perhaps they might return to the right path.” ​

The Qur’an, Chapter 30, Verse 41

The condition of our planet is such that it is on the verge of being destroyed; the staggering levels of pollution are corrupting and destabilising our home. Injustice and war abound. Millions of our fellow human beings have become refugees, millions have been killed during ongoing conflicts, and millions do not have enough to eat to survive. We are collectively responsible for not doing enough to stop evil, and many of us are directly responsible for causing it. We need to take responsibility and understand that this pandemic is a signal, a divine sign, to stop the injustice and corruption on earth.

“Do not spread corruption in the land after it has been set in order.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 7, Verse 56

We must realise that we are caretakers of the earth. This means that we are responsible to maintain the balance, ensure order and not be wasteful. Unjust wars must stop, the murder of innocent people must cease, unfair economic policies must be scrapped, the ill-treatment of animals must come to an end, wastefulness and greed must be eradicated. We are confronted with some choices. To follow God’s guidance which will reset the balance and order, or to continue with the corruption.

“Indeed, God will not change the condition of a people until they

change what is in themselves.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 13, Verse 11

Trust the trustworthy

This global pandemic has kept us glued to our screens waiting for the next update and guidance from the experts; the virologists, epidemiologists and other people of authority. We trust what they have to say and follow their instructions. However, many of us, the majority in fact, have no way of assessing the truth of their statements. We do not have the academic background nor the expertise. Given our limitations as human beings, we simply cannot know everything. Relying on other people’s testimony is an inevitable and essential part of living. Since we can trust some people’s testimony, it would make sense to trust someone more trustworthy than the people we currently trust.

“Muhammad is the messenger of God.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 48, Verse 29

Prophet Muhammad (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) claimed prophethood over 1,400 years ago with the following simple, yet profound message: ​there is none worthy of worship but God, and Prophet Muhammad (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) is the final messenger of God​. We strongly advise studying the rigorously-recorded history of Prophet Muhammad’s (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) life which will reveal considerable information showing us the integrity of his character. He was not a liar nor deluded, but the last of the glorious Prophets and Messengers like Noah, Abraham, Moses and Jesus (peace be upon them all). The oneness of God is what they all preached, and the oneness of humanity is felt most when asserting that truth.

Studying Prophet Muhammad’s (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) life and guidance will also bring to light that he was divinely inspired, and it will provide substantial evidence that the Qur’an is God’s final revelation.

In light of the above, to accept Prophet Muhammad’s (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) message would be logically equivalent to accepting the message of the experts we’ve been listening to attentively during this pandemic.

Coronavirus can lead you to paradise

“He is the One Who created life and death in order to test which of you is best in deeds. And He is the Almighty, All-Forgiving.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 67, Verse 2

God created us to worship Him, and part of worshipping Him is to be tested, and trials like this global pandemic are part of this test. Passing the test, by responding in a way that is pleasing to God, facilitates our permanent abode of eternal bliss in Paradise. ​The world is an arena of trials and tribulations that act as a mechanism to cultivate virtue, ensure our moral and spiritual growth, and decide who among us are truly deserving of eternal happiness. During these difficult times we must be patient and courageous and show compassion for those infected with the virus by helping them in any way we can.

“Do you think you will be admitted into Paradise without being tested like those before you? They were afflicted with suffering and adversity and were so severely shaken that even the Messenger and the believers with him cried out, ‘When will God’s help come?’ Indeed, God’s help is always near.”​

The Qur’an, Chapter 2, Verse 214

Islam is empowering. It sees suffering, evil, harm, pain and problems as a test and it views tests as signs of God’s love. The Prophet Muhammad (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) said, ​“When God loves a servant, He tests him.” ​The reason God tests those whom He loves is because tests are the pathway to Paradise—and being admitted to Paradise is a result of divine love and mercy. This is why this particular test of COVID-19 can help us achieve Paradise. However, if we cannot overcome these trials after having tried our best, God’s mercy and justice will ensure that we are recompensed in some way, either in this life or the eternal life that awaits us.

An awakening

“We will certainly make them taste some of the minor torment in this life before the major torment of the Hereafter, so perhaps they will return to the Right Path. And who does more wrong than the one who is reminded of God’s revelations then turns away from them?”The Qur’an, Chapter 32, Verses 21 and 22

This global pandemic should create a spiritual and intellectual awakening. It is time to return to the path of God. This God-given test can be a sign of either Divine love or our own arrogance. If we are humble, patient, hope for God’s reward, worship Him sincerely, act compassionately and do the right thing, we will pass the test and be eligible for eternal bliss in Paradise—a place that is so blissful that if the one who has suffered the most on earth would be admitted into it for just a moment, he would exclaim, as the Prophet (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) informed us, ​“I have never suffered!”

The choice is ours. We can accept the fact that God is the only deity worthy of worship and that Prophet Muhammad (may God’s peace and blessings be upon him) is His final messenger, or we can reject the truth and by virtue of that risk punishment from God—because we have chosen to reject His guidance and mercy.  Now is the time to believe and be mindful of Him:

“And whoever is mindful of God, He will make a way out for him, and provide for them from sources they could never imagine.”

The Qur’an, Chapter 65, Verses 2 and 3

May God guide and protect us all, and make us eligible for His special mercy.

Undersigned:

Mufti Muhmmad Taqi Usmani, vice president of Darul Uloom University Karachi, Pakistan. The most Influential Muslim in 2020 according to www.themuslim500.com.

Sheikh Dr Sharif Ibrahim Saleh Alhussaini CON, Grand Mufti of Nigeria,  Chairman, Fatawa Committee of the Supreme Council for Islamic  Affairs of Nigeria, Chairman, Assembly of Muslims in Nigeria AMIN.

Muhmmad Seydya Suliman al-Nawawi al-Shanqiti, vice president of Association of Muslim scholars.

Hussain Yee, president of Serving Mankind Association, Malaysia.

Dr. Ali Muhammad Muhammad al-Sallabi, Muslim historian and religious scholar, Libya.

Dr Zakir Naik, Founder, Peace TV Network, Malaysia.

Dr Mohd Asri bin Zainul Abidin, Mufti of Perlis, Malaysia.

Abdul Raheem Green, international preacher, UK.

Sheikh Dr AbdulHayy Yusuf, Vice president of the board of the scholars of Sudan.

Dr Muhmmad Yusri Ibrahim, Academic and researcher, Egypt.

Daei al-Islam al-Shahhal, scholar, Lebanon.

Dr Haifaa Younis, Jannah institute, St. Louis, MO, USA.

Dr. Yasir Qadhi. Dean, The Islamic Seminary of America Dallas, TX, USA.

Sheikh Shadi Alsuleiman, Chairman of Australian National Imams Council (ANIC), Australia.

Dr Muhmmad Salah, Huda TV, Egypt.

Hamza Tzortzis, author and international preacher, UK.

Dr Tawfique Chowdhury, Australia.

Sheikh Omar Suleiman, Founder & President of Yaqeen Institute for Islamic Research, USA.

Imam Said Rageah, Chairman of Journey of Faith international conference, Chairman and founder of Sakinah Foundation, Toronto Canada.

Fadel Soliman, Director of Bridges Foundation, Egypt.

Dr. Anas Altikriti, CEO and founder, The Cordoba Foundation, United Kingdom.

Sheikh Zahir Mahmood, founder and teacher at As-Suffa Institute. Birmingham, England.

Sheikh Dr Haitham al-Haddad, founder of AlMarkaz for Revival and Reform Studies, UK. 

Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah Houiyat, scholar, Germany

Dr Kamil Salah, lecturer in Islamic jurisprudence University of Jarash, Jordan.

Sheikh Ihsan Mohammed Alotibie, scholar, Jordan.

Nour al-Din Yildiz a scholar and a preacher, Turkey.

Shaykh Asrar Rashid. Founder of Hadithiyya Institute, Imam at Jamatia Islamic Centre Birmingham. Author, theologian and orator, UK.

Muhammad Idrees Zubair, former professor and member BOG of IIU, Islamabad, Pakistan.

Dr. Bachir Aissam Almorrakochi, scholar, author and the director of Irshad Academy for studies and development, Morocco.

Shaykha Dr. Tamara Gray, Executive Director, scholar and chief spirituality officer of Rabata.

Imam Siraj Wahhaj, Masjid Al Taqwa New York.

Imam Dr. Khalil Abdur-Rashid, Muslim Chaplain at Harvard University, Instructor of Muslim Studies at Harvard Divinity School & Adjunct Professor of Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School.

Follow us

Messenger icon
Send message via your Messenger App